The Peacock Press

Stories produced by St. Peter's Journalism Students

Midnight Heroes: My Avengers’ Experience

By Harley Cabrera, Class of 2012

Image

I am no stranger to fandom. If you were to ask anyone close to me, they would tell you that I am not shy about my geeky nature. In fact, I profess my love for all things geeky on a daily basis; whether it be talking about Luke’s journey in Star Wars, how I wish I could find a man like Spock, or the possibility of someone actually making it through the platform 9 and 3/4. Naturally, I pre-ordered my tickets for the Avengers as soon as I could.

The venue was not of my choosing. I mention this only because with a block-buster like the Avengers it behooves you to see it in IMAX 3-D (trust me, go for the works with this film). I watched it at a modest venue for the convenience of my best friend. But, I wasn’t taking no for an answer when it came to 3-D. Although there has been a fair amount of debate brewing since Avatar about 3-D films, regardless of your personal stance, this is a film to turn you over to the dark side.  Image

For those who don’t know what CGI is (for those who do, my sincere apologies, being a cinephile, this is movies 101), it means Computer Generated Image. And except for the actors of this film and maybe a prop here and there, this entire movie is CGI. Relevance? Well, if you happen to not watch this hero flick in the intended 3-D, the Hulk is going to look computer generated. As soon as you put on those Ray-Ban inspired 3-D glasses, you’re suspending your belief (and criticism). Not only does the Hulk look realistic (as much as something computer generated could) but deep down you get that awful feeling that you too can be hulk-smashed when you see his giant green fist fly out of the screen.

The film stars Robert Downey Jr. as Iron Man, Samuel L. Jackson as Nick Fury, and Scarlett Johansson as Black Widow. Having watched this film twice, an honorable mention should go to Tom Hiddleston [War Horse, Thor] reprising his role as Loki the God of Mischief and Thor’s “adopted” brother.

“Seriously, besides the Hulk of course, Loki stole the show!” said Avenger super-fan Daniel Tomassi.

Loki as the villain is hellbent on proving to the world and of course Thor that not only is he worthy to be a God, but worthy to have an entire planet at his command. The threat of Loki taking over earth has called in the Avengers: Ironman, Captain America, Thor, Hulk, Black Widow, and Hawk Eye. This is one of the first movies where we see all the major Marvel character in one film. Avengers is slated to be a trilogy while also continuing the other hero’s trilogies as well.

If you’re a comic, hero, sci-fi fan or not, there are other hero films to look forward to for the summer; The Dark Knight Rises directed by Christopher Nolan [Inception, Momento] is the last installment of the Batman trilogy will be release July 20th, and The Amazing Spider-Man a reboot of the Tobey Maguire trilogy will be released July 3rd.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 8, 2012 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , .
